Mindfulness on My Mind

IMG_3076 (1)

I’ve been meditating for about ten years, and just when I thought I understood the practice, I learned something new. This all came to a head during a discussion I had with a meditation mentor about mindfulness. I’ve read countless pieces of literature on the practice of mindfulness, but it was in this one talk that it became more real and more tangible.

One night, I was woken up a couple of times, by my new puppy and my partner. Just when I fell back asleep after the puppy yelped, my partner woke me up when he came to bed. In both incidents, I reacted with anger. I was mad for being woken up, and then my anger grew to where I was not able to fall back asleep. I tried to push my anger away by focusing on my breathing and listening to my yoga nidra CD. However, this time, these tools did not help calm my anger, and I was unable to relax and fall back asleep quickly.

Here is a prime example of how I was “stoking my anger” and focusing on it. I fed my anger by thinking of all the reasons why I deserved to be mad. By the time I used my tools, my anger was unstoppable. Mindfulness teaches us to stop feeding our emotions by befriending them and letting them move through us. You still acknowledge the emotion, it’s the baggage that you leave behind — the stories that you tell yourself about your feelings.

What I learned is that mindfulness is not just placing your attention on your current thought, emotion, or bodily sensation — it’s about knowing where you are placing your attention. Recognizing that helps you separate yourself from your emotions, so you can get a better perspective on them.